Skip to main content

Full Program »

The Schengen agreement

In the town called Schengen, in the south Luxembourg, in 1985, six European countries signed the Schengen Agreement. Five years after the Schengen Convention the abolition of checks at internal borders was determined. A series of measures to increase control at external borders were established. Procedures for issuing uniform visas were introduced including the Schengen Information System, which was replaced by a new generation of SIS II in 2013. The signatories of the Schengen Agreement erased their boundaries on land, sea and airports, and opened borders within the European Union. The Protocol to the Treaty of Amsterdam, the Schengen Agreement and other elements of Schengen acquis, are included in the institutional and legal framework of the European Union and are a part of its legal system. The abolition of border controls started in 1995. In the following years, the Schengen area slowly expands and soon, with accession of Bulgaria and Romania, it will cover 28 European countries. The abolition of internal borders between Member States serves to ensure free movement of goods, people, services and capital. In addition to the economic importance, the abolition of internal borders has freedom of movement within the European Union, which contributes to greater homogeneity and cohesion of European countries; the basic idea of the European Union. An adoption of the Schengen acquis by accession to the European Union is an obligation for each candidate country for EU membership. Croatia, as a full member of the European Union from July 1 2013 will soon have the option to apply for access the Schengen area.


Ivana Plazibat    
Sveučilište u Splitu Sveučilišni odjel za stručne studije

Ivana Grgantov    


Powered by OpenConf®
Copyright ©2002-2015 Zakon Group LLC